BVIPirate Forum Index
Click for Beef Island, British Virgin Islands Forecast
Search FAQ
BVI Weather
Radio Use

Jump to:  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    BVIPirate Forum Index -> British Virgin Islands -> Sailing and Navigation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
soonersailor
Link to this postPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:28 am    Post subject: Note Radio Use

Hello all. I am new to sailing and just wanted to be assured of radio etiquette. Such as how to contact the dockmaster when going into a marina. What channel to use, what do I say? Do I do the same for mooring balls? I tried searching for this but was probably using the wrong search terms. We are going down in october and have been practicing sailing every week at my sailing club but of course we do not use radios here on our lake. Thanks for any help.
walker
Link to this postPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:28 pm    

Radio is fairly informal in the BVI. Most marinas that have a radio will monitor channel 12. If you want to give them a call, it would go something like this:

"Leverick Bay Dockmaster, sailing vessel your boat name, over."

If no joy, try on channel 16.

For what it's worth, except for the larger marinas (Road Harbor and Virgin Gorda Yacht Harbor), no one much bothers calling most of the marinas in the BVI when arriving. Just pull up to the dock. Most places, a dock attendant will be there to help you tie up.

Don't bother calling anyone for a mooring ball. If anyone wants to collect, they will find you.
Av8or
Link to this postPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:54 pm    Post subject: Note Radio etiquette

Sooner sailor,