BVIPirate Forum Index
Click for Beef Island, British Virgin Islands Forecast
Search FAQ
BVI Weather
First Overnight Sail

Jump to:  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    BVIPirate Forum Index -> British Virgin Islands -> Sailing and Navigation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bozemangirl
Link to this postPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 3:44 pm    Post subject: Question First Overnight Sail

Hello BVI Sailors
First time poster with a question I hope to get some advice on. My husband and I have a charter boat in BVI and get down to the islands about twice/year. My husband grew up sailing in the Pacific Northwest, but I'm new to sailing since 2008. We plan to take off as cruisers in 2014. We have a May trip planned to SVI and I told my husband I would try my first night sail at that time. I'm hoping a nice slow sail maybe Culebra to St John or something like that. Maybe we just do a slow sail out and back to Culebra for the evening. We don't really have to get anywhere. After e-mailing Mike Beswick a few years ago, I don't know if we should attempt this as our boat does not have a life raft--we'd actually planned to go to St Martin and Mike said "don't". We chose to heed his advice. Is it crazy to do a night sail in an an area in which we are familiar without a life raft on board? My husband is not concerned as he is confident we would not go if weather prediction is not acceptable. I've got to do this at some point.
Thanks in advance for any advice and for a place to post the question.
sail2wind
Link to this postPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:40 pm